grtools.de Internal Ballistics software (free)

Reloading equipment, methods, load data, powder and projectile information.

grtools.de Internal Ballistics software (free)

Post by Oldbloke » 30 Mar 2022, 5:49 pm

Hi,
First let me state I'm no reloading expert.
There has been mentioned here in the past a mention of grtools. Also quick load. GRTools is free.

These are software to predict/calculate cartridge pressures, velocities, energy etc of loads when fired. Please note these are not precise, they are a guide only. So treat them as such.

So, being retired I decided to have a look at grtools.de as it is free.

You need to register to download the software, a simple process. The down load is abt 225mb and will need to be unzipped. You can run it on your PC but I opted to unzip it to a usb memory stick and so far so good. If you wish you can also register to the discussion board using discord.

I've only used this so far to ascertain the approximate velocity of a few of my hand loads and I would have to say its easy to get a hang of. If I can anyone can. :lol:

So far, so good. I think re-loaders should consider having a crack at this software. It just gives you more info in addition to powder manufacturers data.
There are plenty of powders included and ADI is there. Would just be nice if there was a bit more. Plenty of projectile choices too.
Here is a screen shot. Velocity and energy figures are clearly shown in the "results" tab.
The left tab is where you make various selections for powder, proj etc,

223 Super Roo 55gr 24gr.JPG
223 Super Roo 55gr 24gr.JPG (173.55 KiB) Viewed 1347 times

http://www.grtools.de

https://www.thereloadersnetwork.com/201 ... art-using/

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=sehV1jeHa ... _rel_pause

The file size is about 225mb