Carbide reloading dies

Reloading equipment, methods, load data, powder and projectile information.

Carbide reloading dies

Post by wayward » 20 Nov 2014, 10:55 am

You just don't have to lube them?

Is that right?
wayward
Private
Private

Western Australia

Re: Carbide reloading dies

Post by Triang » 15 Jan 2015, 3:15 pm

I'm no expert on this but 99% sure that applies to straight cases only. Pistol cases etc.

You can't replace your necked rifle dies with carbine ones so you don't need to lube them while sizing.
Howa Axiom .308 --- Nikko Stirling Nighteater 3-10x42
Ruger 77/357
Marlin 25N .22 --- Weaver Kaspa 3-9x40
Triang
Private
Private

Northern Territory

Post by Jack V » 15 Jan 2015, 8:08 pm

It's true you don't have to lube a straight case in a carbide die but that is only because the die will not get damaged . The brass on the other hand will wear out quicker . Keep you brass very clean before sizing . Pistol shooters don't seem to worry too much about case life anyway .
Jack V
Sergeant
Sergeant

New South Wales

Post by Warrigul » 15 Jan 2015, 8:14 pm

Jack V wrote:It's true you don't have to lube a straight case in a carbide die but that is only because the die will not get damaged . The brass on the other hand will wear out quicker . Keep you brass very clean before sizing . Pistol shooters don't seem to worry too much about case life anyway .

The sheer volume you need to load makes lubing pistol cases impractical, I size in batches of 500 or 1000. Nickel plated cases seem to last better than plain brass in carbide dies.
Warrigul
Warrant Officer C2
Warrant Officer C2

-

Post by Jack V » 15 Jan 2015, 8:28 pm

Warrigul wrote:
Jack V wrote:It's true you don't have to lube a straight case in a carbide die but that is only because the die will not get damaged . The brass on the other hand will wear out quicker . Keep you brass very clean before sizing . Pistol shooters don't seem to worry too much about case life anyway .