Fired brass chambering issues

Reloading equipment, methods, load data, powder and projectile information.

Fired brass chambering issues

Post by Boothy89 » 17 Jan 2015, 11:55 am

G'day Fellas,

I'm very new to reloading so I'm a little lost. I am attempting to reload 308 win. I have some once fired brass (American eagle) that I got from a mate. I have de-capped them all through my Lee re-sizing die. I trimmed them to the recommended case length (2.005 inches) and I am using 165 grain Sierra HPBT at COL of 2.750.

So using the brass I have from my mate, when I try to chamber the new reloaded round into my Savage Axis, it will go in just fine but to lock down the bolt takes a large amount of force. I have checked that its not an issue with the COL as I went well below the COL as a test. I have also tried just using the brass on its own after it has been re-sized and trimmed. I was still having huge issues in chambering it.

My rifle has no issues chambering factory rounds that have never been fired. Is it an issue with my re-sizing die? or am I missing a step somewhere?

Thanks in advance!

Cheers,

Boothy
Boothy.

Remmington 223,Savage 308, Stoeger 12g, Marlin 30-30, Beretta 92FS 9mm, Ruger GP100 357mag, Springfield 1911 9mm
Boothy89
Recruit
Recruit

New South Wales

Re: Fired brass chambering issues

Post by Tiiger » 17 Jan 2015, 1:53 pm

Boothy89 wrote:I have de-capped them all through my Lee re-sizing die.

I'm going to take a guess and say you've got a neck sizing die there? Not a full-length sizing die?
Tiiger
Corporal
Corporal

Queensland

Post by Boothy89 » 17 Jan 2015, 1:58 pm

Forgive my noobness, but how do I tell the difference. I bought the three die set from lee which 'allegedly' has the full length sizing die.
Boothy.

Remmington 223,Savage 308, Stoeger 12g, Marlin 30-30, Beretta 92FS 9mm, Ruger GP100 357mag, Springfield 1911 9mm
Boothy89
Recruit
Recruit

New South Wales

Post by Boothy89 » 17 Jan 2015, 2:47 pm