260 Remington vs 6.5 Creedmoor

Reloading equipment, methods, load data, powder and projectile information.

260 Remington vs 6.5 Creedmoor

Post by BSim » 01 Mar 2015, 10:16 am

hi

I'm new to shooting and reloading and trying to decide between the 260 Rem and 6.5 Creedmoor. I've visited quite a few dealers websites for equipment and havent found dies or brass for the 6.5 Creedmoor. Am I missing something? As such, I'm inclined to go with the 260 for ease of obtaining the equipments. Appreciate if anyone can shed light on the availability of materials for the Creedmoor. thanks
BSim
Recruit
Recruit

New South Wales

Re: 260 Remington vs 6.5 Creedmoor

Post by Korkt » 01 Mar 2015, 11:02 am

The 6.5 Creedmoor is a relatively new cartridge, I think Hornady only released it 6-7 years ago or so. Compared to the .260 Rem which has been around for 18 or 19 years so there is a bit of that too it.

6.5 is also slanted towards match shooting where the .260 Rem is more all purpose.

The 6.5 just hasn't been around as long and done as much maybe won't be as readily available depending on your dealer.
Korkt
Corporal
Corporal

New South Wales

Post by Tiiger » 01 Mar 2015, 11:02 am

What brought you to these two calibres? What's the purpose of the rifle?
Tiiger
Corporal
Corporal

Queensland

Post by BSim » 01 Mar 2015, 1:56 pm

Hi

I'm using it for target shooting exclusively, not hunting. I'm looking at them as they kick less than the venerable 308 and shoots flatter

thanks for the replies so far
BSim
Recruit
Recruit

New South Wales

Post by Jack V » 01 Mar 2015, 2:14 pm

As far as I can see the 6.5 Creedmoor has a better shoulder design than the 260 Rem. This would make it easier to size too and hold a precision headspace . Longer neck which makes partial neck sizing more useful .