308WIN have I loaded it right ?

Reloading equipment, methods, load data, powder and projectile information.

308WIN have I loaded it right ?

Post by macnet1 » 14 Jul 2015, 9:06 pm

Hey guys just starting out on my first load and decided to do some 308win.

There is a challenge though - Ive completed reloads on the following, 1 set of reloaded brass which was purchased loose from a store in Brisbane and 1 set of rounds that Ive shot myself that were full rounds bought some months ago.

Ok the issue is after reloading them the two sets are different sizes in length see the amigos enclosed - my questions is that is this safe ? the first lot of rounds the projectile looks to be a lot deeper seated in the case than the rounds i shot. I hope this makes sense - sorry but its my first time.

Cheers
Mark

IMG_0007.JPG
IMG_0007.JPG (348.1 KiB) Viewed 5616 times

IMG_0006.JPG
IMG_0006.JPG (333.65 KiB) Viewed 5616 times

IMG_0005.JPG
IMG_0005.JPG (380.94 KiB) Viewed 5616 times

IMG_0004.JPG
IMG_0004.JPG (269.6 KiB) Viewed 5616 times

IMG_0003.JPG
IMG_0003.JPG (229.29 KiB) Viewed 5616 times

IMG_0001.JPG
IMG_0001.JPG (432.58 KiB) Viewed 5616 times
macnet1
Recruit
Recruit

Queensland

Re: 308WIN have I loaded it right ?

Post by tom604 » 14 Jul 2015, 9:39 pm

looks like your seating die is loose/not set up right, did the loose brass all go too deep? can you pull the bullets out with ease, try with just a shell,do they just drop in?
how many loose shells did you buy? you did full length all the loose brass? :problem:
tom604
Warrant Officer C2
Warrant Officer C2

South Australia

Post by brett1868 » 14 Jul 2015, 11:15 pm

Mark,
Welcome aboard and very wise of you to seek some advice when something didn't look quite right. Some questions and a few observations base don the pictures.

Questions
Make and model of rifle?
Barrel length?
Twist rate if known?
Do you own a kinetic bullet puller? (Jam some tissue into the bottom so the projectile tips don't break)