243 Reloading advice.

Reloading equipment, methods, load data, powder and projectile information.

243 Reloading advice.

Post by Nightowl » 02 Aug 2016, 12:58 pm

So I am new to the world of reloading and would love any advice/thoughts to steer me in the right direction. currently I am trying to work up a hunting load using the following.
Ruger American 432 with a 1 in 9 twist rate
ADI powder 2208
Hornady 87g V-Max BT
Federal primers
Federal brass

The ADI Handloaders guide states that I should use a powder range of between 32 and 36g. So yesterday I made 4 rounds of each load going up in 0.5g increments. to my surprise I shot a clover leaf with the minimal load of 32g. after consulting others "in the know" I was expecting to find a more suitable load up towards the max load data. any thoughts on the matter would be greatly appreciated.
Regards
Dan
Nightowl
Recruit
Recruit

New South Wales

Re: 243 Reloading advice.

Post by ozbluei » 02 Aug 2016, 9:02 pm

Sounds good. My most accurate loads are usually at the minimum or 0.5gr above the minimum. Once you've decided on your load you can start to manufacture it in bulk and adjust your sights for that load.
ozbluei
Recruit
Recruit

New South Wales

Post by sakoBC » 02 Aug 2016, 9:12 pm

Yep, the most accurate load for my 243 is a minimum load. You can't argue with the results. I've gone through a fair bit of powder checking out various loads and seating depths. Found the load that works and have been using it for the last ten years on everything from paper to pigs.
sakoBC
Recruit
Recruit

New South Wales

Post by Oldbloke » 02 Aug 2016, 9:25 pm

Both my marlins are the same love minimum loads, but my model 70 winchester likes near max. Each rifle seems to vary.. TBO I dont think the pigs or goats will notice the difference. Dead is dead. 150 fps one way or the other is SFA.
The greatest invention in the history of man is beer.
https://youtu.be/2v3QrUvYj-Y
Member. SFFP, Shooters Union.