.270win Primers

Reloading equipment, methods, load data, powder and projectile information.

.270win Primers

Post by David » 27 Feb 2017, 8:21 am

Hi all, I'm pretty new to reloading and hope you all understand what I'm on about :!: !

I have currently developed a round for my .270 as follows:
Cases - Ex. Winchester Ballistic Silver tip
Primers - Federal Lrg. Riffle
Powder - AR2217 @ 58.7 grains
Projectiles - Nosler Accubond LR 150 grain
C.O.L. - 3.360

Result - Muzzle Velocity - average 2701 fps.
Group - 0.28 MOA (3 Shot)

I tested the load and Chronographed it using 5 shots at 1 minute intervals with only a boresnake passed through between shots, I discarded the first shot as cold and the last as hot out of the string.

Shot 1 = 2693 cold cleaned barrel
Shot 2 = 2699
Shot 3 = 2704
Shot 4 = 2699
Shot 5 = 2710 extremely Hot Barrel

Now I know the accuracy is there but I was looking to grab or try to grab another 100 or so fps but I'm pretty well maxed on this load what I want to know is will Magnum Primers help achieve that goal or if you have any suggestions they would be appreciated? :?:

The Riffle is a Tikka T3 Lite with Muzzle Brake.
David
Recruit
Recruit

New Zealand

Re: .270win Primers

Post by bladeracer » 27 Feb 2017, 10:54 am

David wrote:Hi all, I'm pretty new to reloading and hope you all understand what I'm on about :!: !

I have currently developed a round for my .270 as follows:
Cases - Ex. Winchester Ballistic Silver tip
Primers - Federal Lrg. Riffle
Powder - AR2217 @ 58.7 grains
Projectiles - Nosler Accubond LR 150 grain
C.O.L. - 3.360

Result - Muzzle Velocity - average 2701 fps.
Group - 0.28 MOA (3 Shot)

I tested the load and Chronographed it using 5 shots at 1 minute intervals with only a boresnake passed through between shots, I discarded the first shot as cold and the last as hot out of the string.

Shot 1 = 2693 cold cleaned barrel
Shot 2 = 2699
Shot 3 = 2704
Shot 4 = 2699
Shot 5 = 2710 extremely Hot Barrel