Powder weight

Reloading equipment, methods, load data, powder and projectile information.

Powder weight

Post by colinbentley » 13 Mar 2017, 1:26 pm

I am firing a Ruger 77 mark 2 using ADI powder AR 2209. According to reloading manuals loads for this should start at 37 grains but not to exceed 40 grains. I began at 37 and for a while stopped at 38 but recently had better groupings at 100 metres with 38.5, I am tempted to go to 39 grains but am a little concerned it is too close to the maximum. There are no visible danger signs at 38.5 (but I am no expert) Do the members consider it safe to go to 39 to see if that further improves accuracy ? Sorry forgot to mention the caliber is a 243 Winchester.
colinbentley
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal

Victoria

Re: Powder weight

Post by bladeracer » 13 Mar 2017, 1:43 pm

colinbentley wrote:I am firing a Ruger 77 mark 2 using ADI powder AR 2209. According to reloading manuals loads for this should start at 37 grains but not to exceed 40 grains. I began at 37 and for a while stopped at 38 but recently had better groupings at 100 metres with 38.5, I am tempted to go to 39 grains but am a little concerned it is too close to the maximum. There are no visible danger signs at 38.5 (but I am no expert) Do the members consider it safe to go to 39 to see if that further improves accuracy ? Sorry forgot to mention the caliber is a 243 Winchester.

If it's not showing any pressure signs then it is safe to go further.
My normal load in the .204 is 30.0gn of AR2206H behind the 24gn NTX. That's 0.5gn above ADI's maximum but still no pressure signs. Accuracy gets better the harder I push it so I would go further, but 30.0gns is heaped above the case mouth already and I can't get any more in there. ADI list 29.5gn at 4423fps from a 24" barrel. I'm getting right around 4400fps from my 22" barrel so I think my pressures are in the same ballpark as ADI.
Practice Strict Gun Control - Precision Counts!
bladeracer
Field Marshal
Field Marshal