Neck Sizing Question

Reloading equipment, methods, load data, powder and projectile information.

Neck Sizing Question

Post by bones-350 » 05 Aug 2017, 1:24 pm

I'm new to reloading this may be considered as a silly question.
My die is a .223 Forster Neck Sizing Die it's not the Forster Bushing Bump Neck Die.
So depending on how far up or down the press this die sits determines my headspace.
Am I correct in saying this?
Marlin.22lr, Marlin17 hmr, Marlin.22wmr, Weatherby action Krieger.223rem, Howa action,Krieger 243w, Ruger 7mm.RM, Rem30.06 & Adler
bones-350
Private
Private

South Australia

Re: Neck Sizing Question

Post by Wm.Traynor » 05 Aug 2017, 1:43 pm

Not a silly Q.
The position of the die in the press can effect headspace; so you are right. Are there no instructions with your die? Need to know how to set it up? Done any reloading at all?
Wm.Traynor
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Queensland

Post by bones-350 » 05 Aug 2017, 2:25 pm

Wm.Traynor wrote:Not a silly Q.
The position of the die in the press can effect headspace; so you are right. Are there no instructions with your die? Need to know how to set it up? Done any reloading at all?

Thanks so much for your reply I appreciate it much.
I have been reloading for a short time now.
I do have the instructions that come with the die but the answer was not in the instructions.
I've got the Hornady AOL gauge an a set of ogive and headspace inserts.
No harm in getting advice from fellow shooters and reloaders I figure.
Marlin.22lr, Marlin17 hmr, Marlin.22wmr, Weatherby action Krieger.223rem, Howa action,Krieger 243w, Ruger 7mm.RM, Rem30.06 & Adler
bones-350
Private
Private

South Australia

Post by bones-350 » 05 Aug 2017, 2:42 pm

Another question.
I'm using ADI .223 brass and the fired brass headspace measures. using the Hornady headspace gauge, at 1.458".
Should I set the die to bump the shoulder back?
If so by how by how many .000" ?
Or do I set the die for a 1.458" headspace?
Thanks
bones-350
Private