Scope ring lapping

Rifle scopes, iron sights and optics. Spotting scopes and target acquisition devices.

Scope ring lapping

Post by sally-bee » 25 Mar 2015, 2:41 pm

Hi guys,

I'd like some feedback on whether scope ring lapping is worth it for a newbie shooter?

I'm not a pro chasing super accuracy, is there any risk of damage to the scope if it's mounted as is? That's the only reason I'd want to to it.
sally-bee
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal

South Australia

Re: Scope ring lapping

Post by Chronos » 25 Mar 2015, 5:43 pm

I reckon if you have the gear available it's almost always worth doing.

Here is some pics of the rings on my .22, Anschutz 64 actioned Weatherby with Sportsmatch rings, you can see how little of the rings were contacting the scope when i fitted the rings to the action. I stopped to take the photos after a few strokes with the 1" lapping rod then continued until 80% or so of the bottom ring was lapped.

Chronos

Chronos
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant

New South Wales

Post by Gwion » 26 Mar 2015, 11:17 am

In most cases it's very worth while. Not difficult and doesn't take long. Some rings will state "no lap", like the DNZ. Machined and one piece. I didn't lap mine DNZ game reapers because they are one piece and after testing contact found it was very good (also was bore sighted at mechanical zero!) but i have lapped a couple of pairs of single rings and would lap just about any two ring system for perfect alignment in situe.
Gwion
Colonel
Colonel

-

Post by Tiiger » 26 Mar 2015, 1:00 pm

Not to dispute Chronos' post above as such but I'd just say the majority of shooters don't do it and are fine.

I put it down as one of those things to do it you just want to do it for fun, or for the sake of it.

I have never seen a scope damaged or accuracy lost from not lapping rings.

2c.
Tiiger
Corporal
Corporal

Queensland

Post by Chronos » 26 Mar 2015, 2:03 pm

it's not about dispute mate it's about your experiences. :thumbsup: