Who has spent as much on glass as their rifle?

Rifle scopes, iron sights and optics. Spotting scopes and target acquisition devices.

Who has spent as much on glass as their rifle?

Post by aaronjo » 29 May 2015, 7:43 pm

Ok guys,

I've always heard the line "Spend as much on glass as your rifle!"

I'm new to guns but do you really?
Last edited by aaronjo on 29 May 2015, 8:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Beretta 87 Target 22LR
Walther PPQ M2 9mm
Tikka T3 Varmint Stainless .223
aaronjo
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal

Western Australia

Re: Who has spent as much on glass as their rifle?

Post by North East » 29 May 2015, 7:51 pm

T3 Varmint .204 Ruger...$1100.00.
Meopta Meostar R2 4-16X44...$1200.00.
Last edited by North East on 29 May 2015, 7:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Browning BL-22 lever action...open sights
T3 Varmint .204 Ruger...Meopta Meostar 4-16X44
T3 Lite .30-06 Sprg...Aimpoint Hunter 1X red dot

....that will do me
North East
Sergeant
Sergeant

Victoria

Post by Baz460 » 29 May 2015, 7:52 pm

About 30 years ago I bought a 8x56 Kahles scope, that was worth a lot more than the Rem .17 I put it on., I still have the same scope on a Ruger 26/06 today.
Baz460
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal

Queensland

Post by North East » 29 May 2015, 8:27 pm

But you don't really need to it that way....plenty of cheaper scopes around that will do the job.
Browning BL-22 lever action...open sights
T3 Varmint .204 Ruger...Meopta Meostar 4-16X44
T3 Lite .30-06 Sprg...Aimpoint Hunter 1X red dot

....that will do me
North East
Sergeant
Sergeant

Victoria

Post by NukeBOMB88 » 29 May 2015, 8:49 pm

Bought a Ruger M77 Mkii Vt .204 in as new condition with a Leupold Vx-3 8.5-25x50 for $2200
I think the cost if new would've been:
Rifle - $700-$900?
Scope - $1500?
I'm not sure if those prices are correct but I think so :unknown:
Ruger M77 Mkii VT .204
Jw-15e .22
Winchester Model 37a 12ga
Beretta Silver pigeon pump action 12ga
Howa 1500 .223
Howa 1500 .30-06
NukeBOMB88
Corporal