Scope for 22LR

Rifle scopes, iron sights and optics. Spotting scopes and target acquisition devices.

Scope for 22LR

Post by Plinker » 13 Aug 2017, 6:59 pm

Hey guys,
I'm new to the sport and planning to start off with a 22lr to develop form etc. I've been advised not to go cheap on the scope and was wondering if I could use the same scope on both the 22 and sambar hunting rifle at a later date (e.g tikka 308)
Plinker
Recruit
Recruit

Victoria

Re: Scope for 22LR

Post by AusC » 13 Aug 2017, 9:00 pm

Welcome Plinker,

It's possible to use the same scope on both, but you'll need to check the focus range and parallax of the scope.

22lr is really intended to be used at a range of 50 metres (or yards), when a scope is made for 22lr specifically some makers build them with fixed parallax set for this distance. This basically means it's not adjustable to use at any distance other than this, so won't be clear/accurate if you put it on your .308 and wanted to shoot at 100, 200, 300 metres etc.

Most scopes meant for centrefire rifles will have adjustable focus. You check what the minimum is before you buy it to make sure it's suitable for your rimfire as well.

I'm making up numbers here, but say one scope was 10 yards to infinity, that would be fine for both.

If another scopes focus was 70 yard to infinity, you wouldn't be able to focus close enough to use it on your 22lr at 50 yards.

I hope I've explained that clearly.
300 Win Mag Tikka T3 Lite.
4-12x42 Zeiss Terra.
AusC
Sergeant
Sergeant

Victoria

Post by AusC » 13 Aug 2017, 9:01 pm

I should add, once you've looked at a few scopes and have a few options post the models here if there's any doubt and someone can confirm for you :thumbsup:
300 Win Mag Tikka T3 Lite.
4-12x42 Zeiss Terra.
AusC
Sergeant
Sergeant

Victoria

Post by Plinker » 13 Aug 2017, 9:38 pm