Glock 34 Gen 5 hand loads and jams

Semi automatic and single shot handguns, revolvers and other pistols

Glock 34 Gen 5 hand loads and jams

Post by Macross » 02 Oct 2020, 8:52 am

I got a new Glock 34 gen 5 recently. Its had a significant jam three times now. First two were slide failing to go into battery and unable to rack the round out or manipulate the slide at all. Ended up tapping the slide forward with a rubber mallet and firing the round. The third just the other day was a spent round that wouldn't come out and again locked the slide up. Ended up stripping the slide and pulling the striker etc. out the back and man handling the barrel out. Rod down the barrel to push spent case out.

The three jams have been with my hand loads. I've been reloading for about 6 or 7 months and have run thousands of my loads through my CZ Shadow 2 without a single issue. I case gauged all my loads and am confident that my ammo is very consistent. I'm just perplexed as to why we are having such sever jams with the new Glock.

Is there anything specific about Glocks that would cause them to not like hand loads. Are the tolerances in the chamber super tight? My CZ will eat anything.

Each time I got the director of our club, who is a certified Glock armorer to assist with the jam. I've been shooting pistols for about 2 years so am fairly competent but wouldn't take on a jam with a live round without some assistance. Especially with a new gun that I'm not 100% familiar with.
Macross
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal

Queensland

Re: Glock 34 Gen 5 hand loads and jams

Post by wanneroo » 02 Oct 2020, 9:24 am

Interesting. Usually I find Glocks are very generous about such things and CZs like short OAL 9mm.

One thing I would do is check your chamber, there could be a ring of brass in there or some buildup which is giving you issues.