Smartphone GPS app

Four wheel driving. Vehicle modifications. Off road driving and recovery techniques. Towing and miscellaneous vehicle topics.

Smartphone GPS app

Post by Roo farmer » 05 Aug 2018, 9:23 pm

Does anybody know of any useful GPS navagation app that can be used for finding your way back home when driving around in the dark? Would preferably have satellite maps and be able to mark a course of travel to follow back.

MUST be able to work where there is no phone signal.

I realise there are purpose made devices that do this, but if there was an app that would do the job that would be so much more convenient.
Roo farmer
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal

South Australia

Re: Smartphone GPS app

Post by Stix » 06 Aug 2018, 12:23 am

Hi roo farmer
Im not tech savvy at all, but i do vaguely remember having a short conversation regarding this with someone a while back & from memory they said a mobile phone cannot operate the gps without a signal.
I cant recall the details why, from vague memory was something to do with the gps component in the phone.

Sorry i cant be of more help...but i would very much like the same...!!
Cheers
The man who knows everything, doesnt really know everything...he's just stopped learning...
Stix
Colonel
Colonel

South Australia

Post by JSS » 06 Aug 2018, 7:30 am

The Hema maps app works without phone signal and will track your trip so you can follow it back. You do have to download the maps for the area you're using while you have service though, i made that mistake once when we did an extended trip and i drove off the edge of the world according to my phone.