Suspension life help/info (Subaru Forester)

Four wheel driving. Vehicle modifications. Off road driving and recovery techniques. Towing and miscellaneous vehicle topics.

Suspension life help/info (Subaru Forester)

Post by chacka » 25 Mar 2015, 3:12 pm

It's not a done deal yet but I'm leaning towards swapping the current daily drive (road car only) for a 4WD.

I've got a soft spot for the Forester and am reasonably set on a 2010/2011 2.5L Turbo at this point.

The criteria for choosing the car is I want a nice daily driver of modest size which is also a capable 4WD for mild - moderate terrain. Doesn't have to be an extreme off-roader. Not interested in the 2013+ models and they're only available in automatic and/or displacemnent and power output has dropped to be replaced with an extra gear to quasi makie it up.

The 2010/2012 XT seems to fit the bill about right.

One thing I expect will need doing though is a suspension lift, an area I'm no expert in.

Just getting my ducks in a row at the moment and am after general information to research. What's good, what's not, things to avoid or look out for. Recommended suspension part brand?

Any advice appreciated.
Last edited by chacka on 03 Aug 2015, 11:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
More Than Just The Gun
chacka
Corporal
Corporal

South Australia

Re: Suspension life help/info (Subaru Forester)

Post by Die Judicii » 25 Mar 2015, 3:19 pm

While your doing your research, it probably wouldn't hurt to do some on the cost of spare parts.
I've been told in the past that sometimes it gets pretty scary.
:| :|
I do not fear death itself... Only its inopportune timing!
I've come to realize that,,,,, the two most loving, loyal, and trustworthy females in my entire life were both canines.
Die Judicii
Colonel
Colonel

Queensland

Post by North East » 25 Mar 2015, 3:47 pm