Steel cap boots - Never again

Camping, fishing and outdoor recreational activities. Tips, equipment, accessories, hiking and outdoor cooking.

Steel cap boots - Never again

Post by Korkt » 03 Nov 2014, 8:06 am

I've been wearing steel cap boots for ever for no other reason than - if you want a pair of tough boots, you buy steel caps. Regular old leather an steel with a thick sole.

On Thursday I picked up a pair of new more modern boots by Keen. Waterproof, mesh, fancy gortex and plastics and all the rest.

After wearing them for the weekend, never again with a pair of steel caps I'm saying.

More comfortable, but without the extra weight my legs are really thanking me after 2 days on the weekend wearing them.

2c for anyone interested in boots.
Korkt
Corporal
Corporal

New South Wales

Re: Steel cap boots - Never again

Post by Chronos » 03 Nov 2014, 9:09 am

Have to agree.

I've been wearing leather steel caps every work day for near 25 years. They're comfy enough but come time to go bush I ditch them in favor of light weight synthetic gortex boots. Your feet stay drier too.

Chronos
Chronos
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant

New South Wales

Post by Warrigul » 03 Nov 2014, 9:52 am

Korkt wrote:I've been wearing steel cap boots for ever for no other reason than - if you want a pair of tough boots, you buy steel caps. Regular old leather an steel with a thick sole.

On Thursday I picked up a pair of new more modern boots by Keen. Waterproof, mesh, fancy gortex and plastics and all the rest.

After wearing them for the weekend, never again with a pair of steel caps I'm saying.

More comfortable, but without the extra weight my legs are really thanking me after 2 days on the weekend wearing them.

2c for anyone interested in boots.

I can see where you are coming from, I often go after rabbits in my sandshoes.

I still wear steelcaps daily, yes lightweight boots are lighter but they are NEVER as waterproof as properly maintained high legs and gaiters.