How often do you need to sharpen a chainsaw?

Camping, fishing and outdoor recreational activities. Tips, equipment, accessories, hiking and outdoor cooking.

How often do you need to sharpen a chainsaw?

Post by RealNick » 23 Dec 2016, 4:22 pm

How often do you sharpen your chainsaw blade?

Is it all the same with a decent quality blade or are there different types and routines?
RealNick
Corporal
Corporal

Victoria

Re: How often do you need to sharpen a chainsaw?

Post by deye243 » 23 Dec 2016, 4:26 pm

RealNick wrote:How often do you sharpen your chainsaw blade?

Is it all the same with a decent quality blade or are there different types and routines?

you have lost me . so I will think you are talking about the chain and the answer is how long is a piece of string

I used to cut firewood for a living and it all depends on the wood you are cutting .

when I was working in stringy and messmate it would be every meter as the bark is full of grit but in green redgum

and the like it would only be 3x a day but the secret is not how many times but too learn how to do it properly in the 1st place
deye243
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant

Victoria

Post by Bent Arrow » 23 Dec 2016, 5:00 pm

Getting it sharp and then using it properly make a big difference to how long it will cut efficiently. I take two sharp chains when I go cutting firewood. If the first goes dull I can quickly swap the chains. Saves trying to sharpen the chain in the paddock
Bent Arrow
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant

South Australia

Post by bigfellascott » 23 Dec 2016, 5:08 pm

I generally sharpen the chain every time I fill the tank back up but depends on how dirty the wood is or if I find something other than wood to cut - ie a rock or fencing wire etc. which soon see me sharpening the chain or swapping to a back up saw.
bigfellascott
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General

-

Post by Apollo » 23 Dec 2016, 7:56 pm