Help Needed - Rifle + Magnification

Rimfire bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action and self loading rifles. Air rifles.

Help Needed - Rifle + Magnification

Post by NewShooterGirl » 05 Jan 2020, 8:44 am

:welcome: Hi everyone :clap: I am new to shooting. I am currently waiting to receive my license in the mail. Should be anytime now :clap: In the meantime, I need to think about what rifle and scope to purchase :geek: I have two main questions. 1) In your opinion, what is the most accurate .22LR rifle that you can think of? (for under $1k) and 2) What magnification would I need for Target Shooting at 50 metres away? (shooting at paper) Some people tell me 10x is enough.... Some people tell me 15x is enough.... Some people tell me 24x is enough.... Thank you to anyone who can help :welcome: :clap:
NewShooterGirl
Recruit
Recruit

Victoria

Re: Help Needed - Rifle + Magnification

Post by CrackThump » 05 Jan 2020, 9:07 am

Welcome to the addiction NewShoot :) I was you not long ago (. being new to shooting, not being a girl haha).

Talking about scopes, I shoot 50 and 100 mtr with a 3-9x magnification, a lot of advice ive had from people says beware of overpowered scopes. i would consider going as high as 12x on a rimfire

the most accurate 22LR in your price range.? you might want to consider a Tikka. a bit over $1000n, a few guys and my club have them and they are the ducks n*ts as far as the boys are concerned at 50,100 and 200 mtr.

Although you might want to check out the Ruger Precision Rimfire. When I was shopping for my first rimfire (and still wish I had bought the ruger) they were just under a grand and came as a scoped package deal ( 3-9x) .

in all your research and decision making remeber that google and youtube are your friend, if you have a rifle in mind, go look at as many online reviews as you can. I found youtube great for other peoples insights and to see the rifles in action

Exciting times ahead yo. :D have fun
CrackThump
Corporal
Corporal