.17 thoughts, opinions, beliefs and superstitions

Rimfire bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action and self loading rifles. Air rifles.

.17 thoughts, opinions, beliefs and superstitions

Post by Ziege » 11 Apr 2020, 1:14 am

As the topic says haha

I am looking at making two .17 purchases once this covid19 ****** ends, was originally going to storm off to buy a 45-70 but can't be arsed and already own heavy hitters.

What I'm looking at getting is a 17wsm and a .17 air rifle of some sort...

Now I have no idea what 17wsm rifles are kicking around but I know I don't want a HMR. And looking for Ernest input into what non pcp or gas powered air rifles are a goer on a budget, mostly for plinking and taking out pesky critters that have wings and beaks that keep messing with the orchard.
Ziege
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant

Western Australia

Re: .17 thoughts, opinions, beliefs and superstitions

Post by 9.3x64 » 11 Apr 2020, 6:42 am

I am no expert on 17 caliber rifles, but in my experience I was always annoyed by barrel fouling and accuracy falling off, compared to slightly larger bore sizes. Not an issue with an air rifle of course, but I would opt for a slightly larger bore.
9.3x64
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal

Queensland

Post by John » 11 Apr 2020, 7:29 am

.17s where a favourite of a lot fox skin shooters in the 70s manly due to little skin damage.
There sort of died out after that they where very affective in perfect conditions the slightest breath of wind or blade of grass played up holly hell with and suffered from fouling barrels up pretty quick and could be very finicky.
Wsm and the hmr where where the next generation of .17s I’m not sure how popular they are I only know one bloke with one he really likes it and is impressive on paper on a good day haven’t seen it in the field
As for air powered it’s something I’ve started to get interested in manly due to teaching my son to shoot and I’m finding it a hole lot of fun.