New shooter - entry level rifle question

Rimfire bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action and self loading rifles. Air rifles.

New shooter - entry level rifle question

Post by greybro » 21 Dec 2020, 9:38 am

Hi all,

Newbie here - new to the forum (VIC), new to the sport. I've enjoyed shooting the times I've gone and done it as a guest at a range, and I've finally decided to do something about it. I've got my licence application in, and am not starting to think about getting my first rifle.

I'm trying to be budget conscious, knowing I've got a range of costs coming up (range fees, safe, ammo), and am trying to wrap my head around my first rifle (22LR). I'm a leftie, which doesn't help. I'm mostly looking at doing range shooting to start, and may venture into some light competition stuff, and maybe pest shooting from time to time. What I'm hoping some of you seasoned gurus might be able to assist with is some advice or recommendations for a good rifle and scope combo at around the $1k price mark. I know it's a low starting point, but I don't want to break the bank the first time around!

I've had a look at the Savage Mk II (either a F or G), but was wondering if there was something else comparable, and what sort of scope it could be paired with.

Thanks!
greybro
Recruit
Recruit

Victoria

Re: New shooter - entry level rifle question

Post by JimTom » 26 Dec 2020, 6:13 pm

G’day mate, your post seems to have slipped under the radar. Normally plenty of forum members would comment on a question like yours. Hopefully this gets it started.
Mate if your going to use it mainly for target and a bit of hunting then perhaps consider the Lithgow crossover LA101. I haven’t checked for a while but guessing they’d be around the $1000 mark or perhaps a bit more. I know you wanted to buy a scope with your $1000 budget but if it was possible I’d perhaps hold out and get what you want straight up.
JimTom
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant

Queensland