Recommendation for back-to-basics info site?

Rimfire bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action and self loading rifles. Air rifles.

Recommendation for back-to-basics info site?

Post by AbyssRider » 18 Aug 2023, 2:42 pm

hello. recently joined the .22 shooter club and is eager to learn.

as a newbie i found many of the posts confusing. this is due to my lack of experience in the shooting community. just wondering if there is a site where i can study some of the basics of shooting (eg. selection of ammo/scopes, different calibres, shooting jargons etc.).

the SSAA website has many research materials which i really couldnt understand...
AbyssRider
Recruit
Recruit

Western Australia

Re: Recommendation for back-to-basics info site?

Post by in2anity » 18 Aug 2023, 3:04 pm

Depends on what sort of match it is - is it benchrest?
At what point does lack of maintenance become patina?
in2anity
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel

New South Wales

Post by bladeracer » 18 Aug 2023, 3:16 pm

AbyssRider wrote:hello. recently joined the .22 shooter club and is eager to learn.

as a newbie i found many of the posts confusing. this is due to my lack of experience in the shooting community. just wondering if there is a site where i can study some of the basics of shooting (eg. selection of ammo/scopes, different calibres, shooting jargons etc.).

the SSAA website has many research materials which i really couldnt understand...

What sort of shooting are you doing? If you're shooting at a club I would think they probably have people willing to help new shooters out. I took my grandson to a local rifle club this week for his first shoot and the guys there were pretty amazing. It was Benchrest so not my kind of thing but they walked him through the whole thing and he thoroughly enjoyed himself. We'll be going back again for a while I think.
Practice Strict Gun Control - Precision Counts!
bladeracer
Field Marshal
Field Marshal

Victoria

Post by in2anity » 18 Aug 2023, 3:49 pm