Reliable Rimfire rifle

Rimfire bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action and self loading rifles. Air rifles.

Reliable Rimfire rifle

Post by Chimpy1708 » 18 Jun 2015, 4:09 pm

Hi everybody, I'm fairly new to firearms as I've only just got my license and I was wondering what people would suggest for a Rimfire rifle. Can anyone tell me a durable & accurate .22 or 17HMR that isn't going to break the bank? I've been suggested by a mate of mine a .22 Puma Hunter.
Chimpy1708
Recruit
Recruit

New South Wales

Re: Reliable Rimfire rifle

Post by AusTac » 19 Jun 2015, 3:19 pm

Can't go wrong with a CZ 542-455
Certified part time hillbilly
AusTac
Warrant Officer C2
Warrant Officer C2

-

Post by Apollo » 19 Jun 2015, 3:34 pm

A .22LR is cheap to feed, the .17HMR a lot more expensive by a mile.

Depends on what you want to shoot with it.

As above, the CZ 452 or an old very accurate Brno. I'm not a fan of the idea of the CZ 455 with it's switch barrel but I've never shot one to compare.

Durable, well my 1965 Brno Model 2 is certainly that and proven over many years, accurate as well, as good as a designated target rifle I been testing for an upcoming competition.
Apollo
Warrant Officer C1
Warrant Officer C1

New South Wales

Post by North East » 19 Jun 2015, 3:34 pm

Have fun and get a lever action. I recently got a Browning BL-22 lever action and it's a laugh a minute. Holds 15 rounds and you cycle the action as quick as a semi auto. Pretty pricey though at $1200.00 or thereabouts. Don't know what your budget is.
Browning BL-22 lever action...open sights
T3 Varmint .204 Ruger...Meopta Meostar 4-16X44
T3 Lite .30-06 Sprg...Aimpoint Hunter 1X red dot

....that will do me
North East
Sergeant
Sergeant

Victoria

Post by David Brown » 19 Jun 2015, 3:40 pm

There are so many that are good and reliable.