new shooter .22

Rimfire bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action and self loading rifles. Air rifles.

new shooter .22

Post by TheGreenwolf » 14 Mar 2017, 6:46 pm

Hi there,

i am sure this has been asked a thousand times, and i know thats annoying but....

im new to shooting and looking for a .22

ideally what i would like is something with the following charactaristics

.22lr (they seem to be more the style i am after, however...is the ammunition the same??)
something that has or can be fitted with a scope - also advice on scope brand/type appreciated.
something that has or can be fitted with a bipod.
prefer plastic stock, i just like the look of it more for this type of thing.

budget...i would like to aim for 300-600 preferably on the 300 side :crazy:

can anyone suggest....brand...places to shop, etc...i know i can get some things from SSAA and gunsales australia.

so far i like the look of the some of the mossbergs, savage and ruger. and i have heard the anzhulz is the beez neez but you pay for it.
TheGreenwolf
Private
Private

Australian Capital Territory

Re: new shooter .22

Post by Gun-nut » 14 Mar 2017, 8:36 pm

For your price range, I would suggest the ruger american rimfire. I absolutely adore mine as its absolutely fun to shoot and quite accurate too. However you haven't specified what you'll be using this rifle for (hunting, plinking, target shooting etc.) and if you want more help you'll need to give us more information in regards to what you want this .22 for.
Gun-nut
Corporal
Corporal

Victoria

Post by Wes » 14 Mar 2017, 8:37 pm

Hey wolf,

Answering your questions in order.

Generally when someone says "a 22" they are talking about a .22LR. There are a number of .22 calibre cartridges though, .22LR, .22 Win Mag, .22 Long, .22 Hornet etc. so it pays to be specific. If you're talking about .22LR say .22LR.

Basically any rifle should readily accept a scope. Advice depends on budget. Entry level Leupold is always a good option.