Newbie seeking advice on .22 LR rifle for Hunter(Light) BR

Rimfire bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action and self loading rifles. Air rifles.

Newbie seeking advice on .22 LR rifle for Hunter(Light) BR

Post by RajN » 29 Jun 2017, 11:48 am

G’day gents,

Firstly I’d like to thank all the members who have contributed to this forum as I (and many others alike) have benefited with the wealth of info posted in these threads.

I’m fairly new to the ‘Hunter Class BR’ sporting scene and I’m at that stage where I need to buy myself an accurate rimfire rifle along with other bits and pieces. As most of you would know the restrictions for ‘Hunter (Light Rimfire) BR’ is that the rifle along with the scope & mag MUST be under 3.515Kg (7 Lbs 12 Oz) and the scope CANNOT exceed 6 magnifications (power). I need an accurate .22 LR rifle which I can shoot of the bench UNDER 2.90Kg as I’d be using a Leupold FX3 6X42 AO scope weighing 425g without the rings. This is the challenge I’m faced with and would like your inputs guys. So far I’ve managed to narrow down my choices to the below:

CZ 452 American– Managed to track one with a beach wood stock weighing 2.9Kg
I understand that it is tried and tested rifle among shooters especially with a trigger job but will it be competitive enough in the club scene? Competing against the CZ 453, Lithy LA101 etc.

CZ 453 American – USED gun with a modified stock for BR
For arguments sake, is the CZ 453 American more accurate than a 452 with a trigger job? Does the set trigger in the 453 help with target shooting and worth the extra dollars? (nearly double $) :crazy:
Are there any other differences between them other than the trigger mechanism?