Calling foxes DIY

Varminting and vertebrate pest control. Small game, hunting feral goats, foxes, dogs, cats, rabbits etc.

Calling foxes DIY

Post by Oldbloke » 21 Mar 2021, 4:41 pm

I've been whistling foxes for a few years with mixed results. Getting into it more now that im retired. As I've said, bit like fishing. Some times they bite, mostly they don't. Lol But I like it.

I was looking at Foxpro's (& other callers) on the net today and certainly not cheap for what they are. Just a speaker and some cheap circuits.

Sooo, anyway I tried a blue tooth speaker a while back with my mobile. BUT, they seem to tell you in a loud voice you have turned them on, or batt is low. A complete PITA. Last thing you want, a speaker yelling out, I'm turned on, or I'm in this mode. Lol And I think not quite loud enough.

Soo, wondering what others may have had success with DIY. I was thinking a loud speaker, perhaps with a small amp. (https://varmintal.com/ahunt.htm#El-Cheapo)

Or perhaps a megaphone that has a 3.5mm input plug and connect to a mobile. I think they have an internal amplifier.

tempFileForShare_20210321-161248_920795347039574.jpg
tempFileForShare_20210321-161248_920795347039574.jpg (162.44 KiB) Viewed 7027 times

Both are pretty cheap. So, what's worked for you?
The greatest invention in the history of man is beer.
https://youtu.be/2v3QrUvYj-Y
Member. SFFP, Shooters Union.
SSAA, the powerful gun lobby. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Hunt safe.
Oldbloke
Field Marshal
Field Marshal

Victoria

Re: Calling foxes DIY

Post by NTSOG » 21 Mar 2021, 4:59 pm

G'day,