do muzzle brakes reduce noise at the target

Varminting and vertebrate pest control. Small game, hunting feral goats, foxes, dogs, cats, rabbits etc.

do muzzle brakes reduce noise at the target

Post by FOLF » 31 May 2023, 6:40 pm

I know that muzzle brakes redirect energy back towards the shooter to reduce recoil and this increases the apparent noise for the shooter. I know that muzzle brakes do not reduce overall noise, but if they are redirecting energy and noise back towards the shooter then do they reduce noise out near the target?

I am a farmer shooting roos in fairly open country using a 223. It seems to me that it would help to reduce as much noise as possible around the roos so that they stand longer and aren't disturbed as much when I shoot. I am not a professional shooter and need all the help I can get! I don't know if a muzzle brake would make any difference, but this seemed like the place to ask.

Also, am I correct to assume that muzzle brakes are not prohibited in NSW?
FOLF
Recruit
Recruit

New South Wales

Re: do muzzle brakes reduce noise at the target

Post by geoff » 04 Jun 2023, 7:00 pm

A muzzle brake redirects the gases created by the powder being consumed, but the pressure gradient that causes the sonic boom of the supersonic projectile is still going to be there along that path of the projectile. It's the bullet "breaking the sound barrier", which is unavaoidable without using subsonic ammunition and that is not advised in this circumstance.
geoff
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal

Western Australia

Post by deye243 » 04 Jun 2023, 7:16 pm

The reason why the roos are not gonna sit there and let you shoot them is because of the sonic crack which sounds like a stock whip coming from the projectile itself
deye243
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant

Victoria

Post by Blr243 » 04 Jun 2023, 7:26 pm