Recommendations for fox hunting?

Varminting and vertebrate pest control. Small game, hunting feral goats, foxes, dogs, cats, rabbits etc.

Recommendations for fox hunting?

Post by jennageit » 17 Jul 2014, 8:51 pm

Hi Guys,

I'm busy doing research, looking for my first shotgun to start taking care of the foxes around here. It feels like I breed sheep purely to feed the local fox population!

Anyway, I'm an absolute beginner when it comes to firearms, so I'm going to find myself a club to start out with.

My question is:

I'm a lightweight (tall but too skinny for my own good), have tiny (weak looking) wrists and a grip strength of <45kgs right hand.

My plan is to sit out near one of the old trees where the foxes cross and pick the buggars off before they get to my lambing paddock. Can anyone recommend a shotgun that will do the job (if my aim is true) but wont sit me on my butt? I just want to kill them, not blow them apart, but everyone I've spoken to comes up with a different idea. One enterprising fellow said i could borrow his slug gun if I wanted to (not gunna happen).

So, suggestions for a lightweight beginner with a smallish budget would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,
Jenna
Back from a break, and ready to shoot again :)
jennageit
Corporal
Corporal

Victoria

Re: Recommendations for fox hunting?

Post by mausermate » 17 Jul 2014, 9:14 pm

Hi Jenna. I have not had much luck with a shotgun shooting foxes unless they are whistled in close. Any 12 gauge will do the job but for me a 17HMR or a 22 hornet are great fox guns that don't make too much noise or blow them to bits or bust the shoulder. Lots of second hand hornets on the market on usedguns.com.au. Good luck with the lambing, hope the weather in VIC is kind to those ewes.
Now that's been said, who's coming for a shot?
mausermate
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal

New South Wales

Post by Chronos » 17 Jul 2014, 9:27 pm