Category B reasons for NSW firearms license

Questions about New South Wales gun and ammunition laws. NSW Firearms Act 1996.

Category B reasons for NSW firearms license

Post by Sk1ds » 18 May 2020, 11:03 am

Hi all

I’m just starting out on the journey and want to try and get cat A and B up front so I have more choices in the future.

I live on 18 acres and mainly want to use a gun for vermin etc but also later to humanely put down my horses as and when they are come to that time.

For Cat B you need to specify a genuine reason, does anyone have suggestions on what is typically accepted? Would the euthanasia of horses be one?

Many thanks
Neil
Sk1ds
Recruit
Recruit

New South Wales

Re: Category B reasons for NSW firearms license

Post by bladeracer » 18 May 2020, 11:27 pm

Sk1ds wrote:Hi all

I’m just starting out on the journey and want to try and get cat A and B up front so I have more choices in the future.

I live on 18 acres and mainly want to use a gun for vermin etc but also later to humanely put down my horses as and when they are come to that time.

For Cat B you need to specify a genuine reason, does anyone have suggestions on what is typically accepted? Would the euthanasia of horses be one?

Many thanks
Neil

Just put "hunting & target", but you might want to add Primary Production as well. I did see some discussion that landowners were illegally euthanizing their stock injured in the bushfires because such is outside the scope of a "hunting" or "target" genuine reason, but I think common sense prevailed, eventually.
Practice Strict Gun Control - Precision Counts!
bladeracer
Field Marshal
Field Marshal

Victoria

Post by Farmerpete » 19 May 2020, 5:47 pm

Euthanasia is definitely a genuine reason if you explain it properly, if you just wrote I wanna shoot a horse I don't think it would go down too well,