Gun Safe installation - concrete floor, chipboard wall

Questions about New South Wales gun and ammunition laws. NSW Firearms Act 1996.

Gun Safe installation - concrete floor, chipboard wall

Post by Johnny Jigsaw » 28 Dec 2020, 10:16 am

Hi my friends

I am pretty new to all of this and would like some advice if possible.

I'm in the process of acquiring and installing a safe in a cupboard under the stairs. The floor is concrete which is great but the wall behind is chipboard with no studs. it is a very tight compartment so it is almost impossible for someone to get behind it.

If I bolt this safe to the ground and have it against the chipboard do you think this will be passable?
Johnny Jigsaw
Recruit
Recruit

New South Wales

Re: Gun Safe installation - concrete floor, chipboard wall

Post by yoshie » 31 Dec 2020, 5:36 pm

As long as its bolted down it compiles. If you get it inspected the officer will give it a wiggle, if it wiggles too much they won't pass it or tell you to fix it. They might want to make sure the bolt size at least minimum size. I've have 4 inspections in 15 years and haven't had a problem.
yoshie
Sergeant
Sergeant

Australian Capital Territory

Post by bladeracer » 31 Dec 2020, 5:45 pm

Johnny Jigsaw wrote:Hi my friends

I am pretty new to all of this and would like some advice if possible.

I'm in the process of acquiring and installing a safe in a cupboard under the stairs. The floor is concrete which is great but the wall behind is chipboard with no studs. it is a very tight compartment so it is almost impossible for someone to get behind it.

If I bolt this safe to the ground and have it against the chipboard do you think this will be passable?

As long as it securely fixed to the structure it'll be fine.
Practice Strict Gun Control - Precision Counts!
bladeracer
Field Marshal
Field Marshal

Victoria

Post by djmm » 31 Dec 2020, 6:25 pm