PTA stuck at "referred to adjudication"

Questions about New South Wales gun and ammunition laws. NSW Firearms Act 1996.

PTA stuck at "referred to adjudication"

Post by AS30N » 20 Jan 2022, 3:13 pm

Newbie here but been shooting for a long time.

I moved from WA to NSW in 2021, the whole license transfer were painless (used to live in NSW many years ago so I just asked my old pistol club to take me back and issue club support, before I even flew). Have had a few issues with wrong serial numbers/barrel length/calibre but usually an email to NSWPOL would fix things within a week. They have even processed PAT's for my 15th and 16th pistols within days (didn't even ask for additional info).

But looks like my luck has run out, tried to get a PTA for yet another pistol, and I got a request for additional information. Fair enough, I know people get hit after 15 in NSW (I got that from WA for my 10th one so it's an improvement). I was given 28 days to do it but submitted in 2 because I saw it coming and had the letter written in advance. I was actually pretty confident that the explanations would suffice, I have listed all my matches in a spreadsheet with differences in rules regarding equipment, even chucked in club certified attendance sheet and open/state champ results for good measure (about 30/year for cat H, not easy to do considering its was during the middle of 2020/21 pandemic). Weeks have passed and heard nothing. So I called last week and was told it will just take sometime. The problem is on the 28th day from the notification for additional info request, the application went from "referred to adjudication" to "lapsed". Wrote to NSWPOL to explain the situation, got a reply that stated my application was changed back to "refer to adjudication" and will be reviewed in due course.

Ok sure, wait a while, but the next morning the application status went back to lapsed again...... What the hell?