Cross border PTA

Questions about Queensland gun and ammunition laws. QLD Weapons Act 1990.

Cross border PTA

Post by CAVEMAN » 14 May 2021, 6:17 pm

Background, im a QLD resident that will soon be popping south to NSW for the first time in a while. Now if i see something i like in a NSW gun store how does the PTA work?

Can i get a QLD PTA for that dealer and get it in person or do i need to do the usual process and have it shipped between dealers and get a PTA for the receiving dealer?

Kind of dont know on this one at all.
"Well if it ain't an 8 inch, i'm not paying"

Some guy on the internet circa 2020
CAVEMAN
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal

Queensland

Re: Cross border PTA

Post by bladeracer » 14 May 2021, 6:32 pm

CAVEMAN wrote:Background, im a QLD resident that will soon be popping south to NSW for the first time in a while. Now if i see something i like in a NSW gun store how does the PTA work?

Can i get a QLD PTA for that dealer and get it in person or do i need to do the usual process and have it shipped between dealers and get a PTA for the receiving dealer?

Kind of dont know on this one at all.

As far as I'm aware it works the same as ordering online.
Buy it, seller takes it to his dealer.
Dealer sends it to your dealer.
Dealer does your PtA.
Go pick it up.

I don't believe you can take delivery of it in NSW but check with NSW Registry..
Practice Strict Gun Control - Precision Counts!
bladeracer
Field Marshal
Field Marshal

Victoria

Post by pomemax » 14 May 2021, 6:38 pm

Needs to be on your state register I bought a pistol from Qld had to have it sent to local gun shop they added it to nsw registration , took then 2 months to do as well ( added cost interstate transfer)
Then I could take pta in and pick it up for the same cost as local transfer .
pomemax
Warrant Officer C2
Warrant Officer C2

New South Wales

Post by No1_49er » 14 May 2021, 8:24 pm

You can buy it, but NOT take possession of it.