Noob Gun Owner with Noob Question on Gun Safes

Questions about Queensland gun and ammunition laws. QLD Weapons Act 1990.

Noob Gun Owner with Noob Question on Gun Safes

Post by Angel » 07 May 2016, 9:38 am

Hi Guys,

A Quick question and im sorry if it is a silly one. I am a noob gun owner and just wanted to confirm if a Gun Safe must be vertical or can it be bolted to the ground in the Horizontal position. The location i want to put it would be much more space efficient if it was laying on the floor. If so does this affect/damage the guns and is this considered legal? I haven't acquired and rifles yet as i am waiting on QLD Pol to finish my licence application but just wanted to know.

Many Thanks
Angel
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal

Queensland

Re: Noob Gun Owner with Noob Question on Gun Safes

Post by David Brown » 07 May 2016, 9:44 pm

There is nothing in the legislation that says anything about safe orientation.

There is nothing I can think of in storing a rifle in any particular orientation either.

It might be unusual, but that would be all. The downside could be a rifle with a scope may not sit in place when it is placed in the normal safe design that way, but if you do not have many in a big enough space, it will find its resting place. Or you could cut your own racking in ply to do it.
David Brown
Corporal
Corporal

Queensland

Post by brett1868 » 07 May 2016, 10:12 pm

As David said, nothing wrong about laying it flat. You can always leave the rifle in its bag when in the safe to protect it from falling over or use a gun sock. Wouldn't be too difficult to knock up a rack from timber to sit the rifles in so they're supported. Finally, be prepared to upgrade the safe to something bigger cause this sport can be addictive :)
How's my posting?
Complaints, Concerns - 13 11 14
brett1868
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel

New South Wales

Post by Angel » 08 May 2016, 7:31 am

Thanks guys, greatly appreciated. :D
Angel
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal