Category C question

Questions about Victorian gun and ammunition laws. Victorian Firearms Act 1996.

Category C question

Post by Hagakure » 10 Dec 2022, 9:31 am

Hi there,

I’m a farmer with a newly approved Category C license.

Does this license permit only firearms that are defined by the category definition? I.e. semi auto rimfires and semi auto shotguns?

Or can I purchase anything from A and B also (my license only shows C though).

I was thinking a centrefire 223 would be appropriate since kangaroo culling (under permit) is one one the the farms needs and I can’t see a rimfire doing that, regardless of semi auto firing.

223 seems like a better choice but is that available to category C holders?
Hagakure
Recruit
Recruit

Victoria

Re: Category C question

Post by No1Mk3 » 12 Dec 2022, 12:33 pm

G'day Hagakure,
The general understanding in Victoria for many decades is that you may purchase a firearm UP TO the Category on your licence, so a Cat A may only own a manually operated (break action, bolt action etc) shotgun or rimfire rifle, Cat B may own centrefire & rimfire or shotgun, so your Cat C allows pump action or semi-auto shotgun and rimfires within the mag limits as well as lesser Categories. Where you need to have some care is that LRD may look at your application and decide that having acquired a Cat B firearm your Genuine Reason for Cat C is invalid and may cancel your licence
No1Mk3
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant

Victoria

Post by Hagakure » 12 Dec 2022, 1:16 pm