Over-barrel suppressors for the range

Questions about Tasmanian fun and ammunition laws. Tasmanian Firearms Act 1996.

Over-barrel suppressors for the range

Post by brouta » 04 May 2014, 9:06 am

Something I saw from some USA shooters got me thinking on this.

Suppressors not allowed here of course for average shooters. Some are arguing for them for hearing protection reasons but no wins so far obviously.

In the country is one thing, at the range your hearing suffers most of course because there are dozens of people around you blasting away.

Does anyone know, has anyone looked at doing slip on over barrel suppressors for at shooting ranges?

Seems like if they could be left in the hands of ranges and used for the duration, that might be baby step of progress that could get pushed through?

Slip 'em on, shoot, give em back to the range at the end of the day.

Could just be the idle thoughts of a newbie here but that's what crossed my mind :lol:
brouta
Recruit
Recruit

Tasmania

Re: Over-barrel suppressors for the range

Post by Chronos » 04 May 2014, 9:43 am

It's a nice idea, problem is firstly if it attaches to your rifle it would probably change the rifles point of impact by changing the barrel harmonics making your range load testing or zeroing less effective. You may also have problems seeing through it unless your scope is mounted high.

The biggest problem is the way the act is written, it says silencers are prohibited. Then it says a silencer is any device designed to reduce the noise of a firearm (paraphrasing of course)

That means if you (or the range) are in position of anything designed to quieten the sound if a gunshot you are breaking the law.

There are circumstances where you are allowed to fit a silencer, with a permit but the second you do that firearm becomes a prohibited weapon making storage, transport and use if it more restricted

Basically the act needs to be changed before such things will be allowed for the majority of us