Attempted safe break in by burglars

Equipment and accessories for shooting. Safes, firearm storage, bipods, carry cases, slings etc.

Attempted safe break in by burglars

Post by Pilch » 30 Jul 2013, 9:41 am

Just sharing a few woes here...

So some time yesterday my house was broken into :(

Came home to find the just about the whole house ransacked, nothing of much value taken and we have insurance so it's not the end of the world, but still a s**ty thing to come home to.

I'm also new to shooting and have recently installed by gun safe. During their ransacking the thief obviously came across the safe, and it looks like he's made some half baked attempt at getting into it. Just a few dings and scratches etc. They obviously didn't have a crowbar or any serious tools because there's no damage like that to the safe.

The cops said it was probably just a random burglary, hence why they didn't have any tools for the safe. Probably just kids with nothing more than a screwdriver to jimmy a door/window etc.

I'm actually so new to shooting that I don't have any rifles in their yet, so there wasn't any worries even if they did get in. Obviously a bit more worried about the future though now that some thief knows there is a gun safe in the house.

Looking to buff up the security a round the place now, to hopefully avoid a repeat in future.

So there, vent over at least :)

Any advice though would be awesome.
Pilch
Private
Private

Victoria

Re: Attempted safe break in by burglars

Post by AusC » 30 Jul 2013, 10:15 am

Sorry for your troubles Pilch,

I've had a break in too. s**ty feeling indeed.
300 Win Mag Tikka T3 Lite.
4-12x42 Zeiss Terra.
AusC
Sergeant
Sergeant

Victoria

Post by Bark » 30 Jul 2013, 11:08 am

Bad news Pilch.

RE: advice, what's your security situation at the moment?

How did they get in?

A mate of mines house was broken into a while ago and he did a bit of a security reno on the place. I might be able to pass on some suggestions?
Bark
Lance Corporal