I'm in a pickle

General conversation and chit chat - The place for non-shooting specific topics. Introduce yourself here.

I'm in a pickle

Post by Wm.Traynor » 01 Jan 2020, 8:12 pm

I'm In A Pickle
And it's about the topic, "Hi Tek bullet coating", in Reloading Ammunition", and the sub-subject of moly coating. First, I have no experience with anything to do with this topic. But I was told years ago that an old boy stopped using moly in his Range Rifle because he could not clean the stuff out of his bore.
I did not want to commit the sin of hijacking KennyA's topic, so I abstained from posting there. I should point out too that the old boy was coating jacketed bullets and not lead. Trouble is, I don't know if that is relevant anyway.
It's too complicated for me and it reminds me of the saying, "The road to Hell is paved with good intentions".
Hope I am not misleading/confusing anyone.
Wm.Traynor
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Queensland

Re: I'm in a pickle

Post by No1Mk3 » 02 Jan 2020, 12:50 am

G'day Wm.Traynor,
Years ago when I shot fullbore some of us would use products like Parker Hales "Never Nickel", and clean with Motty paste. Never Nickel was wiped on the 303 bullet before loading and is simply Moly Disulphide grease and some additives. Never had a problem with hard cleaning. The other method more common now is to actually coat the bullet with Moly straight over the jacket. Again, never had an issue if cleaned thoroughly except you needed to shoot up to 10 coated rounds to condition the barrel before the next comp. Most of us, myself included, simply used a carbon cleaner and left any moly in the barrel, then cleaned with a high ammonia cleaner like Sweets and start again. One thing to understand is Moly coating does NOT improve accuracy, but it can help slow down the accuracy falling off during periods between cleaning. It is also probably the 2nd most argued subject in Target Rifle, Cheers.
Attachments
Parker Hale lube 002.JPG